You’ve Been on my Mind ….

im-back

 

So, I make a return to blogging – it’s been a while. Again. 3 months in fact, much has happened in this time, third year has begun – as has my dissertation. A complex and challenging process which at the same time is very enjoyable, my idea and focus is constantly changing but my love for American Literature has stayed.

The enjoyment of the process thus far has led me to question the feasibility of  a Masters in American Literature. Unfortunately the costings of an MA proved too much – so for now the idea has been shelved until I can afford it. I am, however, in the process of applying for my PGCE in Secondary English teaching. This may sound cheesy but it has never been a question of  if I will teach but what exactly it is I wanted to teach.  I’m really excited about the application process and I’m hoping to start hearing back from the places I’ve applied to soon.

As well as getting into my degree, I have started taking a real interest in creative writing and making time for it. After attending a workshop I realised how, like this blog, writing creatively allows me to explore various thoughts and feelings and to obtain closure or resolutions … my writing isn’t perfect but it’s something that is really enjoyable. I’ll post some of the things I have written on this blog.

The title of the blog refers heavily to a person that was very special to me for some time. We recently reconnected and shared a phone call that really made me treasure the memories that we shared and the moments we had with each other. It was so nice to talk and to see how happy he is.  I must not be consumed by this joy, it was a temporary re-connection, we aren’t the same people we were a few years ago and we have both moved on and developed as people. Things, as the Mel C one sang, will never be the same again – but he has been on my mind for some time and it was so nice to finally reconnect and see what he is doing with his life.

So this is where I am at the moment. Hoping to distract myself in the next few days.

Leave a comment